I wrote this tanka (5-7-5-7-7) as a flash fiction for this photo prompt.

Jan Morrill Writes

I love this photo by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. When crystals form on my window, I find my magnifying glass and study them, amazed at the unique design of each. This time of year, I love the anticipation of winter. But, ask me about it again in February.

This week, I wrote a tanka. It is similar to a haiku, but slightly longer, with a 5-7-5-7-7- form. For a variety of great flash fiction shorts, click here.

And feel free to leave a link to your story in your comments!

_______________________________

Winter blows a brisk
breath across my window.
Her crystals sparkle on
a soft, white carpet rolled out
to announce her arrival.

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Pingback: For Want of a Flower–Part One | Two Voices, One Song

  2. Geraldine says:

    I love the beginning of winter too but I’m so ready for spring after one too many cloudy days, here in BC!

  3. Pingback: Dark Spaces by Dionne Lister - Weekly Shorts No.22 - Cabin Goddess

Leave a Reply

