Desert Bloom

During my recent trip to Big Bend National Park, I found myself curiously attracted to a plant called “ocotillo.” At first, as we approached the park from the lower desert, the plant looked dead, its long, dry, spiny limbs reaching to the sky as if clawing for rain in its final hours.

Then, as we approached the mountain desert, I began to see blooms at the tips, and realized the plants were not dead at all, only dormant. After taking dozens of pictures, I realized why I was attracted to them. They reminded me of people I have known, as well as certain times in my life.

It reminded me to be patient and wait for the blooms.

ocotillo1

Thorny and lifeless

but for shudders in the wind.

Then a flower blooms.

ocotillo2

This entry was posted in Life, Love, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Desert Bloom

  1. We had these in Southern Arizona. They ARE starkly appealing. Bats pollinate the blooms. Long-tongued bats and long-nosed bats. These winged fur-balls also drain each and every hummingbird feeder left out at night in their territory.

  2. I love the way you “see” things πŸ™‚

  3. Geraldine says:

    A beautiful haiku and a good reminder. I needed to read this today. πŸ™‚

    Happy Easter Jan!

  4. Very interesting, Jan, and beautiful metaphor. Thanks for the little life lesson.

Leave a Reply

