#AtoZChallenge: H is for Haiku

THE RED KIMONO

Day8 of the A to Z Challenge is the letter “H”:

H is for Haiku

hai·ku

1. a major form of Japanese verse, written in 17 syllables divided into 3 lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables, and employing highly evocative allusions and comparisons, often on the subject of nature or one of the seasons.

 

I used haiku in The Red Kimono as part of Sachi’s internalized voice. I love to read and write haiku, because I am amazed at how powerful a story can be, even if told in only seventeen syllables. On my haiku blog, Life: Haiku by Haiku (my book by the same title will be published this summer,) I write:

“As with life, haiku’s power is in its brevity.”

One of my favorite haiku authors is Basho. Here are a few of his poems:

basho

all night
autumn winds being heard
behind the mountains

###

the…

View original post 75 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

