Celebrate Poetry–4/2: CATS

Welcome to Day 2 of celebrating National Poetry Month. As mentioned in my blog post detailing the celebration, today’s haiku will be about cats.

I’ll admit it–I’m more of a dog person than a cat person. But there are some cats that have touched my heart.

Ginger

Ginger

Samba

Samba

 

cats think they fool me
feign they don’t give a damn, but
purring betrays them

Share your haiku about cats in the comments and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Celebrate Poetry–4/2: CATS

  1. Robert Brown says:

    Cuddly and so cute
    The cat cries for attention
    While perched on my lap

  2. Dogs teach us to play
    Cats teach acceptance of those
    We can never train

  3. Jim Barton says:

    She purrs while watching
    “Ancient Egypt: Cat Mummies”.
    I turn off the set.

  4. Azim Khan says:

    she raised her antenna
    transmitting affection—
    arching purring and muzzling

  5. Steve says:

    pillow of white fur
    his green eyes close so slowly
    so slowly I doze

  6. Azim Khan says:

    cat-walking on the wall
    birds go pecking
    unconcerned

  7. Mai Karitani Manchanda says:

    The tuxedoed one
    Knocks insistently at four
    Waiting to be fed

  8. Warm ball of fur sleeps
    Patch of sunlight pulses heat
    Tiny mouse sneaks past

  9. Azim Khan says:

    my Grand daughter aged 10 writes:
    Oh! you lazy old cat.
    day by day becomes fat,
    who kills mice with a net.
    Oh! you lazy old cat 🙂

  10. Fay Guinn says:

    Missed yesterday but here it is anyway: (more senryu than haiku)

    My ancient cat poops
    just outside his pristine box.
    I am aging too.

    April 3 — Spring

    Cardinals mating
    mid-air. Flutter of red wings,
    fly from each other

  11. Azim Khan says:

    and up she sits
    paws tucked and eyes closed
    purring the mantra

  12. Nora says:

    Orange fluffy girl
    Gazing and purring at me
    Drinks water from sink

  13. Beth Carter says:

    I don’t like cats either so here’s mine:

    I’m ignoring you
    creeping along the counter
    to show you who’s boss.

  14. I don’t need to be entered for a copy of your book. I already have one! But it seemed remiss if I didn’t attempt at least the cat entry for the month. Here’s one for Kimba:

    Soft pink nose and ears
    belly up in a sun beam
    claws with no mercy.

Leave a Reply

