Celebration of Poetry- 4/1: DOGS

Welcome to Day 1 of my celebration of National Poetry Month. As I mentioned in my blog post detailing my celebration, today’s haiku will be about dogs.

I miss my black labs, Jubie and Bear, who I left behind when I divorced. I loved them dearly, and because of that, I didn’t take them away from the only home they’d ever known–27 acres in the country where they can roam freely.

So, I’ve asked myself why, in the year since the divorce, I have not written about them. Perhaps it’s been too painful. But I’m not surprised that the first prompt I thought of for this haiku celebration was “dogs.”

dogs

though you’re out of sight
you’ll always be in my heart
dear Jubie and Bear

jubie and bear

Share your haiku about dogs in the comments and you’ll be entered into the drawing for one of three copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! There are only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of each day’s post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Animals, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Celebration of Poetry- 4/1: DOGS

  1. The dogs wait, eyes bright
    Ready to greet me at death
    Tails wagging in joy

  2. Jim Barton says:

    If God’s plan for man
    was to live without laughter
    there would be no dogs

  3. Dog romps in backyard
    Children roll in warm green grass
    Spring arrived today

    janet

    • Jan Morrill says:

      I was just noticing those scenes as I took Tommy for a walk today, Janet. I love spring! (BTW, I have a “spring” themed haiku during April, too!)

      • Fun, Jan. I’ll look for it. I love spring, too. I can’t wait for it to arrive in Illinois. It’s just beginning to get here. Yesterday was nice and warm; today, not so much and extremely windy. But plants are starting to push out of the ground, which gives me hope.

  4. Lewis Colyar says:

    Dog wags its tail sniff
    Freshly painted fire hydrant
    Raise its leg then leave
    Lewis

  5. Robert Brown says:

    The dog starts to howl
    As the man on the moon waves
    Asking to be friends

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    I miss my Baggies
    She was my girl’s Golden, yes
    But comfort was she

    Ha!

  7. Lewis colyar says:

    well fed cat watches
    a mouse run across the floor
    lowers its head, close eyes

  8. Azim Khan says:

    woof woof walk
    tails curve up
    tug of war

  9. Azim Khan says:

    morning breeze
    petunias glance
    my pekinese

Leave a Reply

