Celebrate Poetry-4/4: LIFE

The theme for Day 4’s celebrating National Poetry Month is “Life.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

The following haiku is taken from my new book, Life: Haiku by Haiku. Anyone who knows me knows that I like to stack rocks as a form of meditation. It empties my mind, because full focus on the rocks is required to stack them successfully. I like stacking rocks so much, it plays a role in The Red Kimono.

I see a rock and
ponder it, then pick it up.
Mindless, I stack it.

rock2

 

Share your haiku about LIFE in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/4: LIFE

  1. Robert Brown says:

    A new life takes breath
    One so pure and untainted
    Sleep tight my baby

  2. Fay Guinn says:

    Mom was ninety-one
    Dementia purged memory
    Still she knew my name

  3. When I was a lass
    I knew worry, turmoil, fear.
    Now, older, wiser?

  4. “Life is like a box of choc’lates”
    Said Forest Gump’s Mom.
    But, was she right?

  5. Each day something new
    The ultimate adventure
    Live it joyfully

  6. Azim Khan says:

    while I wriggle to shed
    my autumnal ware
    spring opens its wardrobe

  7. Azim Khan says:

    I auctioned my life
    there was no bidding
    they fancied spring to autumn

  8. Helen Hanson says:

    Morning beckons me
    Honor possibility
    I hike a new road

  9. Hours creep, days trot, weeks
    Gallop, months race, and years fly.
    Life gone in a blink

  10. Marcia Gaye says:

    kicking and screaming
    grasping the moment to breathe
    begin living life

  11. Azim Khan says:

    epitaph
    washed by wind and rain
    who could it be?

  12. Susan Gallion says:

    Not knowing the story,
    Best kept secret of all
    Still learning and loving it.

  13. Mai Karitani Manchanda says:

    Full experience holding possibiltities in every moment

  14. Jim Barton says:

    Three bass lures dangle,
    hung on the same gnarly log–
    Grandpa’s, Dad’s and mine

  15. Steve says:

    I will disappear
    here I am stuck with myself
    glowing and fading 

  16. Mustang.Koji says:

    Definitely not my attempt at haiku but I recognize where your thought of the rocks came from! 🙂

Leave a Reply

