Celebrate Poetry-4/5: CHALLENGE

My apologies for being late in posting today. I have two three excuses:

  1. I’m down with a cold.
  2. It’s Saturday. 🙂
  3. And therefore, I hadn’t written my haiku before this morning.

But, back to our celebration. The theme for Day 5 is “Challenge.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I remember once hearing Maya Angelou say that she thanks God for her challenges, because she sees them as opportunities to show strength, to learn something. This made me think we can look at a challenge either as a glass half full or a glass half empty–as a flower or a weed.

Challenges are seeds.
Once planted, will they become
weeds or flowers?

child-blowing-dandelion

Share your haiku about LIFE in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/5: CHALLENGE

  1. No growth without pain
    A challenge builds character
    Or so they tell me

  2. In spring, renewal
    Each year growth begins again
    Emulate the plants

    I was wondering where you were this morning, Jan. 🙂 Feel better soon!

  3. Robert Brown says:

    Face a zombie horde?
    With only my friends you say?
    Challenge accepted!

  4. Steve says:

    some truths, some people
    would not exist, had you not
    accepted challenge

  5. Jim Barton says:

    old man in the park
    sips from a dented tin can–
    pea soup, thin as fog

  6. I am enjoying reading all the wonderful haiku – yours and those in the comments. I have taken on the challenge of learning Japanese in my old age and did not cry during my first lesson today! That’s not to say my brain did not hurt…

    Gritting my teeth hard
    I put on my big-girl boots
    And charge through the mud

  7. Challenge equals change.
    Life without both is stagnant
    Only moss can grow

  8. jublke says:

    after the doctor
    awaiting my test results —
    living anyway

  9. Fay Guinn says:

    Where are the knees that
    once bent with ease silently?
    They have been replaced.

  10. Azim Khan says:

    hold a rung and
    push the other
    ladder is my challenge

Leave a Reply

