Celebrate Poetry-4/6: FAMILY

The theme for Day 6′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “Family.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I dedicated my new book, Life: Haiku by Haiku to my first grandchild, Tommy. When my children, Andrea and Adam, were little, their dad and I used to tell them that before they were born, they were twinkles in our eyes.

My little grandson
is here, the twinkle of the
twinkle in my eye.

 

Raccoon Tommy crop

Share your haiku about LIFE in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life, Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/6: FAMILY

  1. What a cutie he is, Jan! Here’s my haiku for today. Now I have to get going on the next batch!

    Bonds tighten, loosen
    Friends ephemeral as clouds
    Family remains

  2. Steve says:

    crooked branches from
    a thick inseparable trunk 
    reach toward their light

  3. Jim Barton says:

    work-obsessed father,
    self-possessed mother–tea leaves
    line an empty cup

  4. Robert Brown says:

    People who love me
    They never leave me behind
    Always there for me

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Relentless they are
    Stay on course, they will annoy
    Truly urusai

    Lol. 🙂

  6. Fay Guinn says:

    The reason we’re born,
    marry, become Moms and Dads?
    Why, grand kids of course

  7. Quiet is the day
    Missing laughs, questions and yells
    The door bursts open

  8. Fay Guinn says:

    Come play with me, friend,
    until the sun goes down and dark
    divides us through time

  9. Azim Khan says:

    family grows and extends–
    it’s a daisy chain
    hence love and care

Leave a Reply

