Celebrate Poetry-4/11: CLOUDS

The theme for Day 11′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “CLOUDS.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I’ve always enjoyed staring up at the sky and imaging the clouds are other beings. Seems most often, they become dragons. Wonder why that is?

I stare at the clouds
and imagine dragons there
lightning fills the sky

dragon cloud

Share your haiku about CLOUDS in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/11: CLOUDS

  1. Robert Brown says:

    I reach out my arm
    So close but, so far away
    Still I dream of them

  2. I’m having a difficult time getting “I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now…” out of my head! But here goes:

    Pillows of angels
    Harbingers of thunderstorms
    Decorating heaven

  3. Clouds cover the sun
    Play peek-a-boo with the moon
    Shade is relative

  4. Steve says:

    my data (and yours)
    gathering in The cloud, 
    will it strike me down?

  5. Funny, I posted a cloud haiku on Twitter this morning, not quite what you had in mind, but…
    my neighbor’s plum tree
    caught in soft morning sunlight
    my head in pink clouds

  6. Azim Khan says:

    hot sun eclipsed
    by the clouds
    curled leaves uncurl

  7. Lewis colyar says:

    those mysterious
    white puffs floating endlessly
    soon i will ride one

  8. Plane soaring through clouds
    of white and grey. Cottonwool.
    Bringing me to you.

  9. Jim Barton says:

    cloud-shapes in the sky
    memories of you and me
    on our backs, laughing

  10. Pingback: Daily Haiku 2014.04.18 – | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

