Celebrate Poetry-4/12: WATER

The theme for Day 12′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “WATER.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

It’s Saturday, and once again I’m a slowpoke. Or, as I referred to my friend, Janet Webb, as she asked if she’d missed my blog this morning, “I’m a Saturday Snail.” I’ve been bitten by Spring Fever, and have spent the day shopping at Home Depot for flowers and patio furniture, then on to Costco for barbecue fixings for this evening.

No excuse. So, without further adieu, here is my haiku on “water.” I wrote it during the drought a few summers ago, when we worried our well at the farm might run dry:

clear water trickles
so long taken for granted
until it is gone

Share your haiku about WATER in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Animals, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/12: WATER

  1. Lucky for you I didn’t start harassing you as soon as I got up…before 7 am. Can’t help that I’m an early bird, even on Saturday. Glad you had a good day so far, though.

    Chuckling over rocks
    Laughing towards the waiting sea
    Ocean waits calmly

    • Jan Morrill says:

      I’m glad you said something. I’d been thinking off and on that I needed to get it posted, but I’d get sidetracked by something having to do with Spring.

      I love this haiku. So happy. I see the sparkling water, hear its gentle voice, see the waiting ocean.

      • There’s wonderful, older children’s book (older or read-aloud) called “Paddle to the Sea” that you would enjoy. It traces the journey of a carved canoe with an Indian boy in it from up in Canada (I believe) all the way to the Gulf of Mexico. My mom read it to us when we were little and I have a copy as well.

  2. Robert Brown says:

    I copy the flow
    Of the water as it drifts
    To perfect Tia Chi

  3. Jim Barton says:

    on the pebbled shore
    sandpipers greet the water–
    the mighty sea waves

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Oh wow, Jim. I really like the double meaning of that last line. I wrote a haiku about sandpipers once that I’ll share with the “ocean” theme. Sandpipers are ripe to have poems written about them. 🙂

  4. Lewis colyar says:

    Well of salvation
    Its water always flowing
    Reaching for your soul

  5. Steve says:

    Thoughts like dark water
    fill the river of worry
    then evaporate 

  6. Azim Khan says:

    a well- fed pundit
    gurgling
    in the Ganges

Leave a Reply

