Celebrate Poetry-4/16: WORK

The theme for Day 16′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “WORK.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I have to admit, when I saw that my theme for the day was “work,” I thought, “Huh? Now why would you use ‘work’ as a theme? That’s no fun.” But, as I struggled to pull myself from the rubble of my writer’s block, my haiku came to life.

Oh, who wants to write
on such a day? Sadly, my
plot does not thicken.

P1000321x

 

Share your haiku about WORK in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/16: WORK

  1. Robert Brown says:

    One hundred fifty
    That’s how many miles I go
    To bring you your box

  2. Patrick M Peck says:

    Working on a ship
    Stars above enchanting me
    Life of wind and waves

  3. Steve says:

    I don’t wanna work
    not today or tomorrow 
    there are leaves to kick

  4. Lewis colyar says:

    the long day is done
    farmer fans himself with hat
    three fields tomorrow

  5. Jim Barton says:

    given a gold watch
    at his retirement, he said,
    “Free time on my hands.”

  6. Working day over
    Did I find the voice I need?
    Only time will tell…

  7. Lori Ericson says:

    Jobs I’ve known in time:
    journalist, city planner,
    graveyard manager

  8. Azim Khan says:

    new arrival
    at spring
    working over time

  9. Azim Khan says:

    Its lunch time —
    hey, half day work is over
    then the week-end

Leave a Reply

