Celebrate Poetry-4/17: TRAVEL

The theme for Day 17′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “TRAVEL.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I’ve been fortunate to travel to many places around the world, and it’s something I’ll always be thankful I had the chance to do. The picture below was taken on a beach in Anegada in the British Virgin Islands. It’s my screensaver on my desktop. Imagine that.

his postcard arrived
telling me of adventures
I dreamed of once

??????????

 

Share your haiku about TRAVEL in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life, Love, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/17: TRAVEL

  1. Jan, a lovey haiku filled with longing and a loss of dreams. Here’s mine, although I must admit I don’t really travel this way. I usually have a definitely plan, even if it’s amended often.

    Milkweed fluff windblown
    Capriciously blown along
    My mode of travel

  2. Jim Barton says:

    the same old highway
    back and forth for thirty years–
    something new each day

  3. Robert Brown says:

    Land of rising sun
    Where Osaka castles stands
    Let’s go there today

  4. Pushed back in my seat
    Plane flies high on cotton clouds
    Anticipation

  5. Steve says:

    I called your hotel
    no word, left the door unlocked
    footsteps on the stairs

  6. Steve says:

    Vegas layover 
    my father never got back on
    he loved the bright lights

  7. Azim Khan says:

    train whistles
    through a mountain track
    momentary darkness

  8. Azim Khan says:

    caravan moves on –
    blasting sun and stinging sand
    no oasis at sight

Leave a Reply

