Celebrate Poetry-4/19: NEWS

The theme for Day 19′s celebrating National Poetry Month is “NEWS.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

The story about the sinking of the Korean ferry breaks my heart. I can’t begin to imagine the anguish that parents of the trapped children have experienced through days of waiting and hoping for their rescue. I pray and hope with them.

she stares at the sea
hope washed away with each wave
she should have been there

ferry

AP Photo/Ahn Young-joon

 

Share your NEWS haiku in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life, Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/19: NEWS

  1. Robert Brown says:

    So confused, what’s new?
    Changing stories, changeling lines
    What do I believe?

  2. Steve says:

    So sensational
    so little left in me to listen
    I’ve hit bottom

  3. This is beautiful and poignant, Jan. No time for haiku right now, but I can still enjoy yours (although as you saw, I did get a poem done for today.) Happy Easter.

    janet

    • Jan Morrill says:

      As you’ve seen, Janet, I got way behind over Easter. Completely understandable that you didn’t get a haiku written. I was so impressed with your ravioli. Made me hungry just to see the picture. 🙂

  4. Jim Barton says:

    In eastern Ukraine
    terror, chaos, anarchy–
    Soviet bear prowls

  5. Azim Khan says:

    no news only rumors
    till a dragon’s egg hatched —
    coup d’etat

  6. Susan Gallion says:

    Pain and death stlks quietly
    Taking us all by surprise
    No time for good byes

  7. Susan Gallion says:

    First line should read stalks not stlks

  8. Azim Khan says:

    news from the vizier
    put an end to rumors –
    the emperor died

  9. Azim Khan says:

    battle boil with rage–
    an absolute victory
    news of emperor’s death

  10. Jim Barton says:

    April 20-Pain

    the hole in my heart
    can only be filled by love
    and only by you

    note: did not see an April 20 posting online.

  11. Fay Guinn says:

    I didn’t see one either, Jim, but wrote one anyway. It’s Easter. How can I not?

    Garden birds carol
    louder, sweeter song. No more
    pain on Easter morn.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Apologies, Fay. I should quit making excuses, but Easter kept me pretty busy, with it being my grandson’s first. 🙂 Thank you for posting your Easter haiku. It’s beautiful!

      • Fay Guinn says:

        No worries, Jan. Happily but sort of sadly too I have passed the Easter dinner baton to my daughter-in-law. So I had so much less to do this year — Ramen slaw, that’s all. Only bc my son requested it. I even passed on some holiday decorations.

  12. Pingback: These Are a Few of My Favorite Words, Part II | Jan Morrill Writes

Leave a Reply

