Celebrate Poetry-4/28: MEMORIES

The theme for Day 28’s celebration of National Poetry Month is “MEMORIES.” Click HERE for details of this haiku celebration of throughout the month of April.

I don’t know if it’s the grayness of the sky, the scent of the air or the sound of water on the roof and in puddles, but rain often brings back memories. This haiku is from LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU:

my heart beats with the
pitter patter of rain and
the memories it brings

rain1 (2)

 

Share your MEMORIES haiku in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Life, Love, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/28: MEMORIES

  1. Beth Carter says:

    Her warm hands held mine.
    Grandma cooked, spoiled and smiled.
    I miss her warm hands.

  2. Memories like rain
    Flood my heart make me smile
    What is that on my cheek

  3. Patrick M Peck says:

    Clouds in Summer sky
    Memories of my lost youth
    Regained with your smile

  4. Robert Brown says:

    Time starts to age me
    Slowly forgetting my past
    Who are you agin?

  5. Autumn takes me back
    Silent tears surprise my cheeks
    Nostalgia’s season

  6. Steve says:

    Our conversations
    untie past eras, errors
    free sweet memories 

  7. Azim Khan says:

    mountain wind
    and up we went
    hair disheveled

  8. Azim Khan says:

    soft foot-fall
    of mother–
    pretending to sleep

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Oh! I love this, because it brings back so many memories of my own “pretending to sleep.” Only with me, it was with my dad, because then he’d carry me to bed. Nice memories!

  9. Fay Guinn says:

    bare feet, gravel roads
    catching lightning bugs, tad-poles
    summer memories

  10. These are beautiful!
    an old song
    pulls a string of memory
    unraveling time
    (from Poems That Come to Mind)

  11. Jim Barton says:

    Halloween vampires
    stalk the dark streets, capes flying—
    a bite in the wind

Leave a Reply

