Celebrate Poetry-4/30: WINTER OR WILDCARD

The theme for Day 30’s (and the final day!) celebration of National Poetry Month is “WINTER.”

And to celebrate a great month of beautiful haiku from everyone who participated, I invite you to share a haiku of any topic.

I’d like to thank everyone who participated in this celebration of National Poetry Month. Many people have commented to me that they’ve enjoyed reading all of your haiku.

Each person who left a haiku in the comments of this blog has been entered in the drawing one time for every haiku entered. I’ll draw three names tomorrow, and will notify the winners on this blog and on Facebook. In the next week, I’ll mail copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU to three lucky winners!

I hope you’ll continue to visit my blog and if so inspired, will leave your comments, and best of all, share your haiku.

Thank you again. And now, my winter haiku.

crisp air nips my nose
snowflakes dust my lashes
a walk in winter

 

general

Share your WINTER haiku in the comments of this post and you’ll be entered in the drawing for one of three signed copies of LIFE: HAIKU BY HAIKU! Only three rules:

  1. Must be your original haiku (which is typically seventeen syllables, three lines of 5-7-5 syllables each, but I won’t be a stickler.)
  2. Must be entered in the comments of this blog post
  3. Must be about the topic of the day

Click HERE for details.

LHBH Final

Now available on Amazon as Kindle or paperback.

This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Celebrate Poetry-4/30: WINTER OR WILDCARD

  1. Debra Weaver says:

    April winds scatter
    Red buds across the sidewalk
    Leaving green branches

    • Jan Morrill says:

      There aren’t as many redbuds here in Dallas, Debra. So, this gave me an image of something I miss about Arkansas. Lovely and thanks for sharing!

  2. Patrick M Peck says:

    Spring snow is falling
    I revel in the silence
    Still blossoms will fall

  3. Steve says:

    When it’s bitter cold
    earth fixed in ice, she lays a 
    wildcard on my heart

  4. Jim Barton says:

    Winter’s not dreary–
    crackling fires, redbirds in snow,
    frost, like diamonds

  5. Wood burning stove lights
    Fire in hearts so winter worn
    Spring keeps its promise

  6. Fay Guinn says:

    Winter. The end of
    things can be worse — or better —
    than the beginning

  7. Azim Khan says:

    wintry ride–
    ice crystals on mane
    hot potato steam

  8. Azim Khan says:

    wintry moon
    on a sheet
    of cold clouds

  9. Mustang.Koji says:

    You know, I thought I was following your blog… but I wasn’t… How embarrassing… 😦

  10. Pingback: Community Management Haikus - Adventures in Career Changing

Leave a Reply

