Happy Birthday, Mom

 

4. Grandma the beauty - 15April 28 is my mom’s birthday. Today, she would have been 81 years old. It’s only the second birthday she hasn’t been with us, and still, I feel that split second urge to call her to say “Happy birthday.”

I try to cherish that split second, for it’s in that tiny moment that I feel she’s still with us.

I wrote a tanka for my mom’s birthday today. Since I still feel her with me, I hope she likes it.

Happy birthday, Mom.
I miss you every day.
But you’re still with me.
For in my reflection I
See you smiling back at me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Life, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mom

  1. Claudia says:

    What a beautiful mother you had! Thank you for sharing the pictures. Jan, Native Americans say a person is never really gone as long as he is on someone’s lips. You have your mother on your lips, I know, and speak of her… keeping her with you.

  2. Dear Jan,

    I’m certain I heard your mom applaud. Beautiful tanka.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Beautiful thoughts and beautiful photo. I see my mother when I look at my hands – a sweet reminder she remains a part of me, as your mother is a part of you. You do look very much like your beautiful mother.

Leave a Reply

