National Poetry Month Haiku Contest: Day 1 – “Spring”

Welcome to Day 1 of National Poetry Month!

Today’s theme is “Spring.”

Photo courtesy Šarūnas Burdulis via Flickr.

the fickle season
Spring flings her warm, sunny days
then slaps us with snow

The theme for Day 2 is “colors,” so start thinking about tomorrow’s haiku!

To enter for a chance to win a copy of my book, Life: Haiku by Haiku, leave a comment with your original haiku (must use the Theme of the Day). Each haiku will qualify for one entry, so enter as many times as you’d like!

Click HERE for details on my haiku celebration of National Poetry Month!

This entry was posted in Contest, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to National Poetry Month Haiku Contest: Day 1 – “Spring”

  1. Pingback: Celebrate National Poetry Month | Life: Haiku by Haiku

  2. Claudia says:

    You nailed our spring here…40 degree differences in some days during March.
    I will put up my spring lines below but feel free to criticize any of my lines, Jan! I love haiku but just don’t always understand how to do them. One editor really raked me over the coals for giving mine titles…I did it so we could know which lines we were referring to! But he humiliated me about my lack of knowledge!

    tulip teacups wave
    in strong wind waiting to fill
    with rainwater nectar

    • Jan Vanek says:

      Claudia, I’ll admit I’m not formally traine in haiku, but I know what touches me when I read it, and your haiku is lovely–especially the last line. 😊

  3. Steve says:

    take down your old sign
    toss your seeds into the wind
    watch your world turn green

Leave a Reply

